Coming Soon
Japanese Film Festival
Hollywood Babylon
Light House Cinema Book Club
The Royal Ballet
The Royal Opera
National Theatre Live
Royal Shakespeare Company Live
Shakespeare's Globe On Screen
Berlin Philharmonic - Live
Bolshoi Ballet
Exhibition On Screen
Met Opera Live In HD
Schools Programme
Parent and Baby Screenings
Volta, Light House Cinema's online partner


Bartok, Shostakovich & Ravel

18:30, Sunday 10 May 2015

Maurice Ravel proved himself to be a great composer over many genres with his deeply expressive music. The Suite no 2 of music from his opera Daphnis & Chloe is a work of great elegance, colour and musical beauty. The concert begins with Bella Bartók's Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta, a work where the composer divides the strings into two antiphonal. In between is the Shostakovitch's last instrumental concerto - the work he wrote as a birthday present for the great David Oistrakh.